Main Village Bulletin

Posted on: April 8, 2016


The agency was recently recognized as the first Emergency Fire Dispatch Center of Excellence in the state of Illinois, and the 31st in the world.

Buffalo Grove, Illinois – Northwest Central Dispatch (NWCDS) was recently recognized as an Emergency Fire Dispatch (EFD) Center of Excellence, making it the first agency in Illinois to receive this accreditation, and the 31st in the world.

NWCDS also went through a reaccreditation to maintain its classification as an Emergency Medical Dispatch (EMD) Center of Excellence. The agency went through the process for the second time, and has held this classification since 2010. Accreditation for both honors is a voluntary accomplishment.

Both accreditations are awarded by the International Academies of Emergency Dispatch (IAED) and require that NWCDS reaches and exceeds international practice standards of excellence. These standards address individual certifications of all emergency call-takers, ongoing improvement and education programs, and overall system oversight.

“These accreditations confirm that Northwest Central Dispatch is a national leader in emergency services and a model for intergovernmental cooperation. Emergency response through 9-1-1 is at the very heart of services provided to the residents of the communities served by the agency,” said Dane Bragg, Buffalo Grove Village Manager and NWCDS Chairman. “Both the professional leadership and the board of directors are extremely proud of these important accomplishments.”

Northwest Central Dispatch in an intergovernmental, multi-jurisdictional 9-1-1 center which serves 11 communities, including Arlington Heights, Buffalo Grove, Elk Grove Village, Hoffman Estates, Inverness, Mount Prospect, Palatine, Prospect Heights, Rolling Meadows, Schaumburg and Streamwood, as well as Palatine Rural Fire Protection District.

“NWCDS Executive Director John Ferraro should be commended for his leadership, as well as retired Executive Director Cindy Barbera-Brelle, Operations Managers Sue Cooper and Kevin Diluia and EMD/EFD Coordinator Ron Two Bulls. The entire NWCDS team made this honor possible,” Bragg said.

The IAED is a non-profit organization charged with setting standards to promote both safe and effective emergency dispatch services across the globe. It is made up of medical, fire and police academy members and works to unify protocol application, support legislation for emergency call center regulation and strengthens education, certification and accreditation efforts. An Accredited Center of Excellence is the highest distinction in 9-1-1 emergency communication services.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Main Village Bulletin


Posted on: January 11, 2017


Posted on: December 26, 2013